four awards for csis students

Three of our Science in Society graduate students have received awards for their research in recent weeks.

Masters student Zoë Heine received the Nina Crone Award in Garden History from the Australian Garden History Society, as well as the 2019 Graduate Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Garden History. You can read an interview with Zoë on the Garden History Research Foundation’s website here.

Meera Muralidharan and Kate Hannah were each awarded the Ian Langham Prize from the Australian Association for the History, Philosophy and Social Studies of Science. This prize recognises the best paper delivered at the AAHPSSS conference by a student.

Meera is currently completing her PhD under the supervision of Sekhar Bandyopadhyay (History) and James Beattie (CSIS). Her talk was titled ‘Economic botany and the production of natural history knowledge, 1678-93’.

Kate is also completing her PhD through Te Pūnaha Matatini, supervised by Rebecca Priestley (CSIS) and Kate Hunter (History). The talk she delivered at AAHPSSS was titled ‘Uncovering historic whisper networks: Women’s friendships in mid-twentieth century New Zealand science’.

Congratulations Kate, Meera and Zoë!

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.